Nap

I sunk into the hammock this afternoon. The sun sat on the ridge behind me, peaking carelessly through pine needles. Relaxed, I lay there listening to my little sister tell me about the photo projects she is in the midst of right now. I tried my best to listen and not nod off with the afternoon sleep that pulled at my eyelids.

She said, “Well, I’m going to go now. I think I’m going to take a nap.”

“Me too.”

I closed my phone and slipped it into my pocket as I slipped into a light and sunny slumber.

I love the quiet of the mountains. The stillness of the air gently sang me to sleep. The sun covered my body and every hint of feeling overwhelmed with worked evaporated. The sun has stolen the snow. Only a few patches remain. I am ready. So ready for summer.

I’m quitting my job and driving home for my brother’s high school graduation. I’ll be there for a little over a week. Time enough to take advantage of my parents’ health insurance and get my teeth and my eyes checked out. And to dig my mama’s bike out of the garage. I’m dreaming of a summer spent riding my mama’s old blue bike, skin sweating and exposed.

Summer. Summer. Summer. Mmmmmm.

It seems the sun stole has stolen my mind and left dreams of sun sun sunny summer. Only 8 more weeks.

Leave a Reply

